The Key To Accomplishing More

Chris Jones by Chris Jones

If there’s a verse I’ve heard a million times, it’s probably II Chronicles 7:14. It’s the one that says, “…if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.”

It sounds easy, right? Is it possible that the answer to all of our issues is just a prayer away?

If I’m reading this correctly, humility is also a significant part of the restoration process. Unfortunately, humility isn’t a natural component of our lives. I know I miss this, so many times. Even in doing what I believe to be right, I tend to get so focused on my call and perceived responsibilities that I take too much on myself. Rarely, in those moments, do I stop to remember that there’s really nothing I can do in my own power. My only success lies in turning to The One who holds all things in His hands, and has the power to make things right.

The problem? I ignore one command, designed to stop me in my tracks, bringing me into alignment with His plan, “humble yourself”. The process of our country (our cities, our neighborhoods, our families) being healed, begins with us choosing a lifestyle of humility, not just knowing that we’re not able, but understanding that fact so completely that we live our lives on our knees.

It’s a difficult process for some, giving up control, admitting our weakness. It’s ironic but true, that our greatest advances for the Kingdom of God will happen in the moments that we stop trying, confess our complete lack of ability, and turn the fight over to God. Humility is the Key.

Posted on September 4, 2015, in Chris Jones, Christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

