Get In The Game

Chris Jones by Chris Jones

So, let me start with this confession. I’m pretty terrible at Basketball. This is no secret to the guys I play with each week. This small fact, however, didn’t keep me from winning five straight games last Sunday. That’s right. My team was on fire, little thanks to my physical ability.  Over that stretch of five games, where the first team to seven wins, I was responsible for only one of the thirty-five points my team scored to earn those victories. Admittedly, it was an off day, even for my standards. Regardless of my lack of relative skill, however, I received every benefit of being on a winning team. I never had to sit on the sideline and watch, waiting for my turn. I didn’t have the bitter experience of being defeated. I got a good physical workout. I was a winner!

It’s like that in God’s Kingdom.

I think about Romans 5:1-2, where it says, “Therefore, since we have been made right in God’s sight by faith, we have peace with God because of what Jesus Christ our Lord has done for us. Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory.

When will we finally let go of any remaining notion that we have to be someone of significance to be an effective participant in God’s Kingdom? When will we stop holding back our contribution to God’s work on earth, believing we have nothing to offer. In the meantime, we find a certain comfort on the sideline. We grow accustom to our limited victories, almost expecting defeat. We forget the feeling of experiencing a solid spiritual workout, supposing everything would be different if only we had the “skills” and “abilities” to make an impact on the world around us.

Can we finally get to the place where we understand that it’s all about Him? It is He who works through us. It is He who speaks through us. It is His love, His grace, His mercy that draw people and change lives. The only real danger is that we never open ourselves to being used, and never get into the game.

Posted on March 19, 2015, in Chris Jones, Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

