A Father In His Image

Chris Jones by Chris Jones

Parents, how many times have our reactions me and boysto our children been triggered in a moment of our own frustration or anger? I’d guess that, in an easy majority of those instances, we’ve reacted with emotion and consequences that were well disproportionate to the perceived offense. Let it stand as reason enough to live in the power of The Holy Spirit, relying on His love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faith, meekness and self-control to rule over the emotions we’d otherwise release.

Ephesians 6:4 says, “And now a word to you fathers. Don’t make your children angry by the way you treat them. Rather, bring them up with the discipline and instruction approved by the Lord.

A comment to this verse in my Life Application Study Bible says, “The purpose of parental discipline is to help children grow, not to exasperate and provoke them to anger or discouragement. Parenting is not easy. It takes lots of patience to raise children in a loving, Christ-honoring manner. But frustration and anger should not be causes for discipline. Instead, parents should act in love, treating their children as Jesus treats the people he loves. This is vital to children’s development and to their understanding of what Christ is like.”

I like the way Paul’s letter is interpreted in Colossians 3:21 (NLT), where he warns, “Fathers, don’t aggravate your children. If you do, they will become discouraged and quit trying.”

God, help us to love like you love and discipline like you discipline. Help us to nurture the tender spirits in our children. Help us to always build, and never tear down. Holy Spirit, help us exhibit the image and character of Jesus in our interactions with those over whom we’re in positions of authority. Allow us to clearly see the mercy and grace we’ve been shown by the Father, and dispense guidance and correction accordingly. I pray that your peace and presence will rule in our homes, as we yield ourselves to Your Holy Spirit. Amen.

Posted on January 26, 2015, in Chris Jones, Christianity, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great parenting advice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As you know, Spare the rod and spoil the child. I am a firm believer in spankings and strict discipline. Sadly, this is not favored in today’s generation. I am glad my time on earth is limited as I am witnessing a generation of self indulgent youth that when disciplined want to retreat and go elsewhere because they don’t want to follow structure and guidelines outside of selfish pleasures. Often looking at man for guidance rather than building there own faith and taking responsibility for his/her own actions. Maybe I read way too much into your post but I have had a rough day and really want to see kids take initiative for their walk with The Lord. I suppose Dylan, Austin and Leah better get their act together ’cause I am getting ready to lower the boom!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Certainly, I’m not suggesting parents be soft, or ignore Biblical discipline. The advice, here, is simply to be guided by The Spirit, instead of by our human instincts or emotions.

      I especially like the point the author of the commentary makes, when he says, “frustration and anger should not be causes for discipline.” I think some of the greatest victories I’ve experienced in providing guidance/discipline for my sons is when I was able to stop, remove my frustrations and emotions from the equation, objectively evaluate the situation and administer firm, proportional instruction/consequence.

      Conversely, I know the contrast of having responded out of frustration, and having an overwhelming sense, after the dust had settled, that I over-reacted. In those instances, I’ve always apologized to the boys for not setting an appropriate example for them. I’ve also always been careful to provide reinforcement and understanding when stronger discipline was fitting.

      It’s definitely a matter of balance, that seems more likely to be found when we allow ourselves to be guided by The Spirit, rather than emotion.

      Like

  3. Great reminder tonight as we had to discipline a child right before bedtime and he said he did’t want to be our friend anymore. I told him we love you and he said if you love me why do you discipline me. I said it’s because we love you so much that is why we discipline. Nice to read this tonight bro.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

