El Salvador Journal: Day 9

Thursday, July 22nd 2010

Our final day in El Salvador began as all the others did, DSC06571with an early breakfast.  That was followed by our team packing their belongings and cleaning their dormitories. We assembled outside the cafeteria to load for the airport. Boarding the bus was delayed as long as possible, spending that time playing ninja and saying goodbye to those who wouldn’t accompany us to the airport.

As we waited, we were passed by a team who just arrived for their time of ministry. I think many of us were slightly jealous for what they were about to experience. If I was more aware of how much I would miss El Salvador, I would have taken a few more deep breaths and soaked in the scenery of Castillo del Rey’s beautiful lake-side campus.

roomA long ride back to the airport allowed us an opportunity to see everything we missed during our nighttime arrival. While some of the route had become familiar to us over the previous days, much of it was new.

After arriving at the airport, we unloaded and prepared for departure. Making ample use of the last moments we had with our host team, we shared goodbyes and wishes of working together again in the future.  We built strong relationships with our host team, and knew they would be missed.  They did an excellent job of making our time in El Salvador an experience we would never forget.

DSC06592(2)

I wasn’t expecting my return to America to be difficult. Entering America through customs seemed especially harsh. I’m not sure Houston’s TSA agents serve as a great welcome mat for those entering our country. We attempted to keep our group together and ready for the process. All things considered, it was a pretty smooth process.

When we arrived in Virginia, we were greeted by many friends and family. It was a huge surprise to see my wife waiting for me. I thought I had a couple more hours before we would be reunited.

The next couple of weeks was a long slow process of feeling normal in my typical roles again. While it was awesome to get back to being a daddy, and even the responsibilities of work, I felt desperate to hold on to the simple core of discovering what’s truly important in life, drawing people back into relationship with God through Jesus Christ.

I offer these posts as a monument to remind us that we’re still at work, accomplishing this “great commission”

“Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:19-20)

If you were there and remember details or any interesting stories I missed, please add your memories of our ninth day in the comments below. Thank you for reading my journal of our trip to El Salvador. I hope it inspires you to be diligent in your work for the Kingdom and build monuments to those experiences.  Tell the world that God is real, and Jesus is alive.

Posted on July 22, 2014, in Chris Jones, Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

