Who We Are Instead

Chris Jones by Chris Jones

I’m a man.  Therefore, I have no need of driving directions.  I have a destination.  I will get there.  I didn’t give any of this a second thought, as I headed for Lynchburg with my wife.  Let me qualify all of this by saying it happened about sixteen years ago.  I’ve grown since then…and purchased a GPS.  Regardless, I had been to Lynchburg before.  It’s only about three to three and a half hours from our home.  Piece of cake!  Eight hours later…yeah.  I wasn’t lost, exactly.  I just didn’t develop a concrete plan for getting there.  We were a newly and happily married couple with a goal of spending a weekend with friends.  Instead, for lack of a plan, we missed dinner that night, and talked at great length and maybe raised volumes about how I messed up.

We’re like that, aren’t we?  We always want to believe the best of our ability to make things happen, living with hopes and dreams and goals but without a concrete idea of how to make it all happen.  When we misstep and fall into trouble, we console ourselves with verses like Jeremiah 29:11.  It says, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Sounds familiar, right?  I’m sure most have heard it before.  It’s generally spoken as encouragement to “pull ourselves up by our bootstraps” (whatever that means), believing there’s a purpose in all of this.  God has a plan.  The problem is, we often don’t know it.  Instead, most of us live with great hopes, but no real plan for achieving them.

What if… What if many of our problems could be avoided if we just took the time to tune in to God’s plan for our lives?  We’re men and women of God, born with divine purpose, destined to accomplish great things.  Yet, we live without much regard for His plan.  Instead, we live largely lackluster lives.  It’s one thing to apply God’s Word like ointment to our circumstances.  It’s entirely another to hear Him urging us to know that He has a plan for us, and to respond by pursuing it.  His plan is to keep us from falling, instead we continue to stumble.  His plan is to get us to His ultimate purpose, instead we follow paths of least resistance.  God has a plan.  The danger is believing there’s greater benefit in living as who we are instead.

Posted on May 1, 2014, in Chris Jones, Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

