Does the Bible stress you out?

Chris Jones by Chris Jones

I saw a survey at christianitytoday.com which suggested something like 80% of Christians don’t read their Bible daily.  I’m sure most of us have been there, knowing we should get into God’s Word, but unable or not willing to find or create time for it in your day.  It has a way of creating a stressful tension in your life.

If developing and trying to maintain a Bible-reading plan stresses you out, I have a small piece of profound, theological advice for you.  Don’t let it.

If you struggle to read the Bible on a daily basis, perhaps you should just stop trying.  I would suggest, instead, that you find time in your day to worship God.  Worship Him by standing in awe of His creation.  Have you ever just looked at pictures of the universe?  IT’S AMAZING.  He did all that.  That’s a God I want to know more deeply.  Find time in your day to pray.  He listens.  He answers.  When God shows up, in response to my requests, it makes me want to dig deeper into who He is.  Get to know people (various cultures and beliefs).  Consider the fact that we’re all His children.  What kind of God is that, who could come and make Himself relative to all mankind?

This life isn’t intended to be a set of obligations or rules we must follow.  This life was intended to be a love affair.  Don’t struggle with the Bible, from a sense of obligation.  Instead, fall in love with God by experiencing Him.  When you discover a desire to know Him more, get into the Bible in a way that allows you to fall in love with His Word: read small pieces of Psalms or Proverbs each day, read a daily devotional book, listen to a devotional podcast, listen to the Bible through “You Version” on the way to work or find a forum through which you can discuss what you’re reading.

Regardless of the method you choose, be sure to enjoy your time in God’s Word.  If you’re not, don’t just read ritualistically.  Allow God the opportunity to help you find purpose in His Word.

Posted on October 16, 2013, in Chris Jones, Christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This has been my struggle my whole life. With being a wife and mother and jobs that have demanded so much of my time, I have tried to find a daily time to read the scripture. Some days mornings are good but others i squeeze in lunch time or before I go to bed. It does seem like I am checking it off my list of to do items. However, when I am sitting in my car alone with no radio/music just talking to God are some of the sweetest moments I have ever had. So those driving by me thinking what a weird, crazy lady…just keep thinking that!!! 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve definitely witnessed stranger happenings, driving in Hampton. From now on, I’m just gong to assume everyone’s caught up in their own little worship session.

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Pam.

      Like

  2. Awesome, well done and well said!

    Like

  3. I hear ya! Great blog post. I’ve heard graham Cooke say at Aglow that Bible-reading plans like ‘read thru in a year’ can bring on unintentional condemnation… I like how you said ‘This life is intended to be a love affair,’ and to ‘fall in love with God by experiencing Him.’ Amen.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Should The Word Of God Be Boring? | findingdoubt

Leave a Reply

