Confident Trust and Patient Endurance

Chris Jones by Chris Jones

It’s been a rough last couple of days!

Yesterday, my laptop decided to get weird on me. I couldn’t get it to boot.  Frustration quickly set in.  If it’s happened to you, you know the feeling well.  We depend so greatly on these devices, especially when you’re trying to manage a blog.  I worked late into the night without any success, waking up for the aggravation to settle on me fresh the following morning.

I so appreciate my wife sending me sweet little pick-me-up messages throughout the day.  I certainly wasn’t doing anything to help myself.  Honestly, I kind of just wallowed in self-pity for a good part of the day, as work piled on.

Mid-way through the day, I noticed the You Version (Bible app) verse of the day.

Hebrews 10:35-36 (NLT) “So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you!  Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised.

Why do we so willingly trade victory for defeat, throwing away the confidence in which we should live?  Is it really so difficult to endure, with patience, the road bumps in life?  I’m thankful there is a God in Heaven who provides to meet our needs.  His timing and His ways are perfect.  We will always have all we need to walk the paths He lays out for us.  Just keep walking.

Posted on September 13, 2013, in Chris Jones, Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

