Here Today…

Chris Jones by Chris Jones

At the beach the other day, I was reminded how temporary this life is.  My oldest son spent part of the morning building scenes from “Lord of the Rings” (Hobbiton, Isengard, Mt. Doom).  It was an impressive spread.  I thought it would last a while, since the tide was heading out.  A couple large waves later, more than half of his work was completely erased.  There was absolutely no evidence that anything previously stood there.

I’m regularly reminded, as my boys get older, how quickly these lives fly by.  While I’m beginning to accept the fact that I wont live forever, I’m not wild about the notion that my life is just dust in the wind.  James 4:14 (NKJV) says “…you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away.”  All my labor, my hard work, the evidence that I lived a life that mattered, how long will it stand when I’m gone?

One of my favorite quotes suggests, “what we do in life echoes in eternity” (Scott, Gladiator).  What value is there in our accomplishments?  Are we just busy building temporary monuments that testify of our earthly successes?  When all is said and done, will there be anything of your life that resounds?  “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also (Matthew 6:19-21, NKJV).

Take some time today to consider what you’re working for.  Are you just building castles made of sand, or a Kingdom that will stand for eternity?

Posted on August 26, 2013, in Chris Jones, Christianity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

